New Victorian Disability Advisory Council announced

A new Victorian Disability Advisory Council has been appointed to help the Victorian Government continue its important work making the state more inclusive and accessible.
3 August 2022

The Council provides independent advice to government and the Minister for Disability, Ageing and Carers about key issues for Victorians with disability to help shape policies and services and increase the inclusion and participation of people with disability. The council also have a key role advising on the implementation of Inclusive Victoria, the state disability plan for 2022-26.

The following people he been appointed to the Council and will serve a fixed term until July 2025: 

  • Chris Varney (Chairperson) 
  • Mija Gwyn (Deputy Chairperson)  
  • Amanda Lawrie-Jones (re-appointee) 
  • Caitlin Syer (re-appointee) 
  • Gabrielle Hall (re-appointee) 
  • Martin Heng (re-appointee) 
  • Amir Abdi 
  • James Griffiths 
  • Jen Hargrave 
  • Samantha Lilly 
  • Akii Ngo 
  • Laura Pettenuzzo 
  • Diana Piantedosi 

The new appointees bring a wide range of lived experience of disability and expertise in disability inclusion related advocacy, policy, and program delivery.

In line with the Victorian Government commitment to ensuring that government boards and committees reflect the diversity of the Victorian community, the new Council comprises more than fifty per cent women as well as representatives from Aboriginal, LGBTIQ+, culturally diverse and regional Victorians. Young people and carers are also represented.

Thank you to George Taleporos who has chaired the Council through unprecedented times. His dedication, advocacy and advice has been invaluable. And to the outgoing council for their significant input into planning and shaping the development of Inclusive Victoria: State Disability Plan 2022-2026.

Learn more about the exciting new Council and their work on the Victorian Disability Advisory Council webpage.